Independent Minds, Working Together

Honors and Prizes

The James R. Turner Prize in Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

The James R. Turner Prize in Women's Studies was established in his memory in 1986.  Professor Turner was a member of the History Department from 1969 to 1986. The Women's Studies Prize is awarded to the student completing the most distinguished Senior Independent Study Thesis relating to women and women's concerns.

  • David Mallinson - 2013 (Economics & Communications Studies) "Seeds of Slavery: A Mainstream Economic Interpretation and Rhetorical Analysis of Vandana Shiva's Criticism of the Green Revolution and the Alienation of Rural Indian Women"
  • Meredith Loken - 2012 (Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies & Political Science) "Body Wars: Nationalism, The State, and Wartime Sexual Violence in Guatemala and Sri Lanka"
  • Muriel LaMois - 2012 (History & German Studies) "What Makes Her "New?" Reexamening Weimar's New Woman in "Das Künsteidene Mädchen," "Der Skorpion," "Pandora's Box," and "Girls in Uniform"
  • Laura Stricklen - 2011 (Religious Studies & Sociology) "Ain't I a True Woman? A Foucauldian Exploration of Agency Within the True Woman Movement"
  • Alison Grace Peters - 2010 (Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies) "Re-Heading the Headless Fatty: A Look at Fat Positive Feminism in Blogs"
  • Sarah Green Golan - 2009 (Anthropology) "You...Only Better:" A Critique of the Culture of Cosmetic Surgery"
  • Natalie Hutchinson Friedman - 2008 (Sociology) "Naughty, Negative, and Nice: Women's Experiences with Pornography"

College-Wide Honors and Honor Societies

The Dean's List includes students meeting the following criteria during a semester:  enrollment for at least four full credits in letter-graded courses, semester grade point average of 3.650 or higher, no final grade of I (Incomplete) or NC (No Credit). Students who demonstrate satisfactory progress in 451 or completion of 452 are eligible for the Dean's List with three courses which are letter-graded.

Departmental Honors are awarded at graduation to students who meet the following standards: (1) a grade of "H" on the Senior I.S. Thesis or unanimous vote of the department; (2) an average of 3.5 in all courses taken in the major department; (3) an overall average of 3.2 for four years at Wooster.

Latin Honors, first awarded in 1998, are awarded at graduation based on overall grade point average in Wooster-graded courses: summa cum laude for 3.900 to 4.000; magna cum laude for 3.750 to 3.899; and cum laude for 3.500 to 3.749. To graduate summa cum laude, a student must receive a grade of "H" on the Senior I.S. Thesis.  Latin Honors are not a substitute for Departmental Honors.

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest national society for the recognition of high scholarship, has a chapter, the Kappa of Ohio, at Wooster. The student membership is made up of those seniors who are first in academic rank, a few being elected at the beginning of the senior year on junior standing, and others at the end of the year.