Emily Meyers

Phi Beta Kappa Prize Winner Elise Meyers


Inductees 08-09

Phi Beta Kappa - Wooster Members

Phi Beta Kappa Prize Winner: A native of Jefferson, Wisconsin, Elise Meyers is a double major in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Religious Studies with a minor in German. Her Independent Study project “Fusing Interstices: Articulating the Relationship between Science and Religion in Theory, in Particular Religious Scientists and in Self” integrates her two majors around the embodied question of what it means to practice science and practice religion, a question that grew from her summer experiences as an ACS-RISE (Research Internships in Science and Engineering) Scholar in Rostock, Germany and as a Lilly House Azimuth Grant Recipient. While at Wooster, Elise played oboe with the Wooster Symphony Orchestra and cymbals with the Scot Marching Band, helped plan masses on campus and the Sunday@Seven ecumenical service, and participated in Worthy Questions. She also started Different Drummer House, a program house for intentional community formation. Next year Elise will pursue a degree in medicine at Indiana University School of Medicine, continuing to pursue the integration of science and religion.

Recently Inducted Members:

Class of 2009
Joseph Samuel Basalla Joseph P. Besl* Andrea Catharine Brown
Therese Elizabeth Burgler Dana Rose Bustamante Bethany Janelle Caldwell*
Scott M. Campbell* Megan Andrea Connor Elena Katherine Dahl
Anna Maryse Fleming John Chester Garrison* Matt Thomas Gorski*
Sarah Green-Golan* Megan Elizabeth Grundtisch* Evan Z. Heidtmann*
Samuel Warren Hickey Lauren Elizabeth Hines Lorna Elizabeth Johnston*
Juliann M. Lafferty* Michelle E. Lee* Molly Lehman*
Michael Anthony Liberatore Jessica Elizabeth Marsh* Elise Ann Geist Meyers*
Christopher T. Nau* Molly Irene Ogrodnik Megan Marie Phillips*
Brittany Christine Rancour Jacqueline J. Rau* Russell Lee Roberts
Martha Irene Roseberry* Alexandria Elizabeth Rushley Alexandra Vesta Schmitt*
Paul Frederick Seling Emily M. Swoveland* Paul N. Thompson*
Henry Robert Timmers* Elysia Heather Tonti Caitlin Tyler-Richards
Ellen L. Wagner* David Patrick Walton* Andrew Joseph White*
Erica Lynn Wicks* Jeffrey Alan Willert* Melissa Lynn Wood

* Elected on the basis of junior standing

Class of 2010, Inducted as Juniors
Emily Jacqueline Barth Lindsay M. Brainard Emily Rebecca Howard
Justin Bruce Keener Chantal Nathalie Koechli* Alexa Rose Roggenkamp
Rebecca Marie Ross Valeriya Grigoriyevna Spektor Elana Maria Shepherd Stennett
Ryan Wilson Story Laura Joyce West  

* Elected as a junior, but will be inducted as a senior

Members are elected annually in late April and early May.