Inductees 09-10

Phi Beta Kappa Prize Winner: Lindsay Brainard

A Philosophy major from Gustavus, Ohio, Lindsay's Independent Study project, entitled "Contextualism, Factivity, and the Nature of Knowledge," was a critical examination of a recently proposed account of the semantic properties of the word 'knows' and their implications for epistemology.  While at Wooster, Lindsay served as a new student orientation leader, a peer tutor in the Writing Center, a student representative on the Educational Policy Committee, and Co-Editor-in-Chief for Sapere Aude: the Wooster journal of Philosophical Inquiry.  She was also involved in Philosophy for Kids, Model United Nations, the Chinese suite, and the Babcock International Living program.  She spent a summer studying Chinese with the Wooster Summer in Xi'an Program and a semester as a visiting student at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland.  Lindsay will pursue a Master's degree in Philosophy at the University of Cambridge.

Phi Beta Kappa Prize Winner: Justin Keener

A native of Wadsworth, Ohio, Justin is a Chemistry major with minors in Mathematics and Environmental Studies.  His Independent Study project "Optimization of a Wittig Polymerization for Use in OLEDs" worked to optimize the parameters of a polymerization reaction in order to synthesize a conjugated organic polymer for use in organic light emitting diodes.  While at Wooster, Justin was Co-Captain of the Varsity Men's Soccer Team, served as the Secretary for the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, and helped tutor introductory chemistry students.  He is also involved in mission work, highlighted by the opportunity to participate in two trips to Kenya in 2009.  Following graduation, Justin will be employed by ABS Materials, Inc. in Wooster, Ohio.

Recently Inducted Members:

Class of 2010
Daniel Christopher Buckler John Sanford Hotchkiss Allyson Kaitlin Palmer
Claire Michelle Burgess Virginia Anne Kincaid Alison Grace Peters
Jaime Lynne Calderone Chantal Nathalie Koechli* Ryan Eric Radtke
Jessica Ashley Cleveland Gretchen Patrice Lockhart Jeffrey Kevin Reiswig
Amy Elizabeth Cohen Katherine Laura Long Mary Danielle Rhollans
Jonah Clark Comstock Patrick Ian Ludwig Emily Cathryn Sacher
Nathan Andrew Comstock John Jay McKeegan Chaudhry Aneeb Ahmad Sharif
David Foster Flannelly Elizabeth Christine Maffetone* Nora Karen Simon
Kimberly Lanae Hall Melissa Adaya Kees Morgenstern Whitney Anne Williams
Grace Katherine Hansen Tess Marie Morrissey David Christopher Yontz
Hilary Jean Hicks Caitlin Roath O'Riordan  

* indicates a student elected as a Junior, but not inducted

Class of 2011
Lauren Rose Camacci* Stephanie Katherine Jarvis Brad Andrew Palanski*
Michaela Renee Caventer Roger Davies Klein Ann Christine Shanda*
Sara Marie Falkoff Mary Kate Lockhart Wenyuan Wu
Chelsea Rose Fisher* Zachery Daniel Matesich  
Sarah Rita Gerlach Itai David Njanji  

* indicates a student who will be inducted as a Senior

Members are elected annually in late April and early May.