Independent Minds, Working Together
Jack Gallagher

Jack Gallagher

Olive Kettering Professor

Department/Affiliation: Music
Phone: 330-263-2046
Office Address: 208 Scheide


  • Doctor of Musical Arts, Cornell University
  • Master of Music, Cornell University
  • Bachelor of Arts, Hofstra University

Courses Taught

  • MUSC 208: Acoustic Composition
  • MUSC 236: Trumpet
  • MUSC 301: Music Theory V
  • MUSC 305: Orchestration
  • MUSC 308: Acoustic Composition
  • Counterpoint

Biography, Performance, and Research

Jack Gallagher is the Olive Williams Kettering Professor of Music at The College of Wooster. He holds doctoral and master’s degrees in composition from Cornell University and the bachelor’s degree cum laude from Hofstra University. He studied composition with Elie Siegmeister, Robert Palmer and Burrill Phillips, participated in seminars with Karel Husa, Thea Musgrave and Ned Rorem, and in masterclasses with Aaron Copland, George Crumb and William Bolcom.

His Naxos CD of orchestral music, recorded by the London Symphony under the direction of JoAnn Falletta at Abbey Road Studios, was acclaimed as “fresh and exuberant” by Gramophone, which noted “The LSO couldn’t sound finer; it’s as if the music had been specifically written to showcase their approach to making sound.” Awarded five stars by BBC Music Magazine, the disc also was heralded by National Public Radio, which found his music “brilliantly orchestrated and impeccably constructed.” Also awarding the disc five stars, Audiophile Audition called his Symphony in One Movement: Threnody “truly a work of genius” adding, “If you buy only one disc of new music this year, I would certainly suggest this as the place to begin.” The disc was named "Choice CD of the Month by WCLV-FM (Cleveland), New:Classical Tracks: Best of 2010" by Minnesota Public Radio, "CD of the Week" by KBAQ-FM (Tempe/Phoenix, AZ), and to Fanfare Magazine's 2011 Want List.

Gallagher’s works have been performed or recorded by the London Symphony, Virginia Symphony, Charleston Symphony, Cleveland Chamber Symphony, Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra of Krakow, Kiev Philharmonic, Koszalin Philharmonic Orchestra, Ruse Philharmonic Orchestra (Bulgaria), Utah Arts Festival Orchestra, U.S. Air Force Band of Flight, Cincinnati Conservatory Wind Ensemble, Indiana University Wind Ensemble, Grammy® award-winning pianist Angelin Chang, Trio Terzetto, and others.

His compositions, included on fourteen published compact discs on the Naxos Records, Musical Heritage Society, Vienna Modern Masters, ERMMedia, Summit Records, Capstone Records and Altissimo labels, have been broadcast by more than 100 classical radio stations in the U.S., Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Austria, and Radio Arts Indonesia. His Berceuse, recorded by the Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra of Krakow conducted by Szymon Kawalla, has been broadcast 50 times over Radio Stephansdom Klassiksender, 107.3 FM, Vienna, Austria.

He has been the recipient of awards, grants, fellowships, or recognition from the Ohio Arts Council, the Charles Ives Center for American Music, Meet the Composer, the Yaddo Corporation, the Atlantic Center for the Arts, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, The Petit Jean International Art Song Festival, the Barlow International Composition Contest, the Virginia chapter of the College Band Directors National Association, and The College of Wooster Henry Luce III Award for Distinguished Scholarship.

As a producer, his recording for TNC Records of Messiaen’s Oiseaux exotiques with pianist Angelin Chang, conductor John McLaughlin Williams and the Cleveland Chamber Symphony (TNC CD 1515) won a 2007 GRAMMY® Award in the classical category “Best Instrumental Soloist Performance with Orchestra.”

At Wooster he teaches Composition, Twentieth-Century Music Theory, Orchestration, Counterpoint, Trumpet, and Seminar in Music of Living Composers, a course he originated.
His composition students at Wooster have been awarded fellowships, assistantships, masters or doctoral degrees from Cornell, Peabody, The Hartt School of Music, Michigan, Illinois, Temple, Louisville, Syracuse, Buffalo, Virginia, Arizona, Pittsburgh, Butler, Kent State and other graduate institutions. His trumpet students have been awarded scholarships, assistantships, masters, doctoral or ABD degrees from the New England Conservatory, the Eastman School of Music, the Cincinnati Conservatory, The Hartt School of Music, Iowa, Wisconsin, Louisiana State, Ohio State, Illinois State, Duquesne, Kent State, Southern Mississippi, Ohio University, the University of Akron, and others.

For additional information, please visit Jack Gallagher's website.