2012-2013 Inductees

PBK Prize Winner 2013: Lauren Lee

Lauren Lee is a Political Science major with minors in French and Economics from Holland, Michigan. Her Independent Study project was entitled “Don’t Bite the Hand that Feeds You: The Effects of Structural Adjustment Lending on Voting Alignment in the UN General Assembly.” It is a large-n statistical analysis of how being under IMF structural adjustment loans changes the way states perceive their position at the international bargaining table. She specifically asks whether being under structural adjustment changes the international behavior of indebted states, specifically their voting alignment in international forums. And furthermore, who does it change their behavior towards? The United States, the G-7 or the IMF itself? She concludes that lending decisions can change political behavior and that the G-7 is the only actor that influences the behavior of indebted states. This fall, she will be starting a Ph.D. program in political science at the University of California, San Diego and hopes to incorporate her interest in international debt into her dissertation research.

Members of Class of 2013 Inducted Last Year
Brittany Nichole Begres Catherine Winfrey Gillette Keely Elizabeth Pearce
Erin Suzanne Behn Andrew M. Lamade Ryan Thomas Shafranek
Andrew Douglas Blaikie Lauren Elizabeth Lee  Sarah Anne Smith-Polderman
Class of 2013 Inductees
Sarah Ellen Allard Quentin Andrew Fisher Gregory Adam Norris
Maria Campbell Ballentine David Richard Freund Colleen Rose O’Neil
Alexandra Jennifer Beard Gustave Victor Fuguitt Paige Frances Piper
Sarah Louise Blosser Kelley Ann Johnson Erin Jean Plews-Ogan
Emily Barbara Corwin Julie Ann Kendall Katherine Wells Price
Katherine Elizabeth Darling Emma Gates Kornhauser Kellen James Safreed
Abigail Gordon Douglas Stephanie Ann McShane Rachel Ellen Shonebarger
Gideon Patrick Dunster Katherine Elizabeth Morton Gwenlyn Symons
Carolyn Martha Fado Micah David Motenko Celeste Naomi Tannenbaum
 Shawna Helen Ferris  Alexandra Hope Muto  Alexander Llewellyn Turner
Class of 2014 Inductees
Sreyan Chowdhury Holly Marie Jacobs Chelsey Maria Porter
Lauren Thomson Fleming Aaron William McKee Jonathan Wendall Reeves
Emily R. Grover Sarah K. Michels Danielle Catherine Shepherd
Zachary Hugh Harvey Eric Edward Petry Ryan Francis Snyder