STEM Infographic

About the STEM Success Initiative


To empower STEM students from underrepresented groups in their academic success and STEM identity development, while cultivating an inclusive STEM community at The College of Wooster.


Equity in STEM success at The College of Wooster.

Major Efforts

The STEM Success Initiative supports students directly by providing academic support, and indirectly via cultural initiatives and faculty development opportunities.

Academic Support

Inclusive Excellence

Professional Development

  • The STEM Faculty Learning Community (SFLC) - campus professors and staff meet regularly to discuss best practices for inclusive STEM teaching and learning at Wooster. In 2018-2019, this group meets on Mondays at 4 pm. For more information or to be added to the SFLC email list, please contact Steph Strand and/or Missy Schen.
  • Support attendance of faculty at STEM-focused pedagogical conferences.

Participating Departments/Programs

As of Fall 2017, the STEM Success Initiative involves and supports all science and mathematics departments/programs at Wooster.

Advisory Board for STEM Success Initiative

The Advisory Board (SSI AB) is a council of individuals across campus departments and programs that advise and direct programs to support the mission of the STEM Success Initiative. If you have questions, please contact us.

Members of the SSI AB (2018-2019):

Name Department Title
Laura Sirot (Chair) Biology Associate Professor
Katie Boes Biology Instructor; Laboratory Coordinator; SSI Staff
Jen Bowen Mathematics & Computer Science Associate Professor; Chair of Math and C.S.
Jennifer Faust Chemistry Assistant Professor
Kate Gullatta Learning Center Assistant Director
Kara Melrose STEM Success Initiative STEM Zone Coordinator
Amanda Paniagua Center for Diversity and Inclusion Director for Multicultural Student Affairs
Meagen Pollock Earth Sciences Associate Professor; Chair of Earth Sciences
Missy Schen Academic Affairs Director of Educational Assessment
Stephanie Strand Biology, BCMB Associate Professor