Influential Climate Scientist to Present Helen Murray Free Lectures on Oct. 15

M.I.T. professor Susan Solomon to speak at The College of Wooster

September 30, 2013 by John Finn

WOOSTER, Ohio — Susan Solomon, the Ellen Swallow Richards Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry and Climate Science at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will present “Something for Everyone about Climate Change and the Reasons for Climate Gridlock” at the annual Helen Murray Free Lecture on Tuesday, Oct. 15, at The College of Wooster.

Solomon’s presentation, which is free and open to the public, begins at 7:30 p.m. in Lean Lecture Room of Wishart Hall (303 E. University St.). She will also deliver a technical lecture, titled “Ozone Depletion from Pole to Pole: Science and Policy,” earlier that day (11 a.m.) at the same location.

Solomon is well known for having pioneered the theory that explains why the ozone hole occurs in Antarctica. She is also the author of several influential scientific papers in climate science, including one on the irreversibilities of the climate-change problem. She received the U.S. National Medal of Science in 1999, and is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Sciences, the Royal Society, and the Royal Society of Chemistry. She also served as co-chair of the climate-science group of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) from 2002-2007, and in 2008, she was named by Time magazine as one of the 100 most influential people in the world. Solomon Glacier in Antarctica is named in her honor.

Helen Murray Free graduated from The College of Wooster in 1945 with a B.A. in chemistry. Her research in clinical chemistry revolutionized diagnostic testing, particularly the "dip-and-read" glucose tests for diabetics, and she was awarded seven patents for her clinical diagnostic test inventions. From 1987 to 1992, she chaired the American Chemical Society's (ACS) National Chemistry Week Task Force, and in 1993 she served as president of the ACS. She and her husband, Alfred, were inducted into the National Inventor's Hall of Fame in 2000, and in 2010, the ACS designated the development of diagnostic test strips as a National Historic Chemical Landmark. That same year, she was awarded the National Medal of Technology and Innovation by President Obama.

Additional information about the lectures is available by phone (330-263-2418) or e-mail.