College of Wooster Recognizes Employees for Years of Service

More than 75 to be recognized at luncheon later this month in Lowry Center

02 May, 2014 by John Finn

WOOSTER, Ohio —David Horn, a member of the Campus Grounds Crew for 40 years, heads a list of 12 retirees who will be honored along with scores of others when The College of Wooster hosts its annual employee recognition luncheon on May 14. Horn, who started at the College in 1974, will be joined by fellow Grounds Crew veteran Bill Carlton, who logged 35 years of service. Also retiring are Linda Marion with 25 years in the Learning Center. Barbara Brooks with 23 years in the Department of Music, Elaine Snyder with 22 years in the Library's Special Collections Unit, Robert Bradham with 21 years in Campus Dining, Donald Drouhard with 20 years in Education, Carol Thompson with 14 years at Wilson Bookstore, Carol Rakoczy with 12 years in Human Resources, Craig Firestone and Scott Middleton with 11 years in Custodial Services and Maintenance Operations, respectively, and Ronald Tebbe with 10 years in Academic Affairs.

Also celebrating major milestones this spring are Treva Morris, who has been with Campus Dining for 40 years; Dana Baker (Campus Dining), and Diane Rossey (Chemistry), who are celebrating 35 years each; and John Finn (Public Information), who is marking his 30th year at the College.

Heading the list of Silver Anniversary honorees are three longtime members of the Campus Grounds Crew: Gary Beckler, Amy Fair, and Jeff Moser. Others celebrating 25 years are Mindy Albright (Longbrake Student Wellness Center), Rogera Flack (Wilson Bookstore), Jackie Middleton (Physics, Mathematics, and Computer Science), and Dennis Rice (Cross Country and Track).

Those to be recognized for 20 years of service include four members of Custodial Services: Jennifer Harper, Michael Pegram, Debra Stowers, and Barbara Swartzentruber. Also being honored for two decades of service are Carolyn Buxton (Dean of Students Office), Esther Horst (Longbrake Student Wellness Center), Bonnie Hughes (Physical Education and Athletics), Joyce Murphy, (Nursery School), Laura Neill (Ohio Light Opera), Patrice Smith (Communication Studies/Theatre and Dance), and Lanny Whitaker (Power Plant and Utilities).

The 15-year honorees are Jessica Armstrong (Development), Noreen Fain (Custodial Services), Douglas McGlumphy (Art Museum), Frederick Potter (Transportation), Santha Schuch (Kauke Hall), Rose Seling (Art/Art History and the Art Museum), and April Banach and Gladys Keegan (Campus Dining).

Marking a decade of service are more than a dozen employees, including three from Campus Dining: Daniel Flynn, Ruth Gowins, and Rebecca Underwood, and two from Custodial Services: Sue DeCapua and Wendy Hutchison. Others with 10-years are Darlene Berresford (Academic Affairs), Marlene Brown (Applications Development), Bradley Cors (Development), Doug Laditka (Facilities Management and Planning), Toni Shreve (Music), Beth Snyder (Biology), Mary Spencer (Morgan Hall), and Sarah Stanley (Public Information).

Rounding out the list of honorees are five-year employees Lynette Arner (Office of the President), Matthew Baker (Applications Development), Cynthia Bernardy (Kauke Hall), Jeff Bricker (Physical Education and Athletics), Rebecca Buckingham (Campus Dining), Erin Christine (Campus Libraries), Mollie Conley (Admissions), Mary Cornelius (Chemistry), Peg Cornwell (Office of the President), Barry Craddock (Baseball), Shaquez Dickens (Finance and Business), Laura Gregg (Speech and Hearing Clinic), Rita Hamlet (Campus Dining), Meghan Horn (Physical Education and Athletics), Kristine Jamieson (Registrar's Office), Amber Larson (Learning Center), Landre McCloud (Alumni Relations), Rachel Messenger (Campus Life), Marilyn Modarelli (Custodial Services), Karen Parthemore (Academic Affairs), Rex Schaefer (Custodial Services), Melanie Schultz (Admissions), Melissa Schultz (Web Communication), Jamin Sprowl (Security and Protective Services), J. Lynn Thompson (Ohio Light Opera), Jody Tidwell (Theatre and Dance), Julie Wright (Ohio Light Opera), and Julia Zimmer (Campus Life).