College of Wooster to Honor Retirees and Employees with Significant Milestones

More than 50 staff members to be recognized at annual luncheon on May 13 in Lowry Center

22 April, 2015 by John Finn

WOOSTER, Ohio — The College of Wooster will honor six retirees and more than 50 employees at its annual recognition luncheon on May 13 in Lowry Center.

Heading the list of retirees is Connie Pattin, who ended her tenure in January after 32 years, most recently in the Office of Academic Affairs. Also retiring are Jan Hamill after 29 years in the Longbrake Student Wellness Center, Bonnie Hughes after 21 years in physical education and athletics, Sharon Gumbert after 14 years in admissions, William Brown after 13 years in maintenance operations, Mary Wirth after 12 years in custodial services, and Sherlyn Myers after 10 years in custodial services.

In addition to the retirees, three employees will be recognized for 30 years of service: Keith Beckett (physical education and athletics), Patti McVay Gorrell (Andrews Library), and Sally Whitman (President's Office), while seven will mark 25 years: Sharon Bodle (Andrews Library), Judy Davis (custodial services), Charles Gard (campus post office), Mark Niemczyk (campus grounds), Natalie Richardson (human resources) Miriam Terman (Longbrake Student Wellness Center), and Eric Van Vooren (campus dining).

Those marking 20 years are Timothy Anderson (maintenance operations) and Donald Morris (golf course operations), while 11 others will celebrate 15 years at Wooster, including Paul Cooley (golf operations), Bonnie Edwards (campus bookstore), Rob Harrington (swimming and diving), Hugh Howard (college relations), Patrice Reeder (geology), Lori Schimmel (softball), and Loren Tooley (bookstore). Also marking 15 years are Dennis Derflinger and Dwayne Garvey, both in materials management/transportation, and Vickie Rouse and Kathy Trivette, both in custodial services.

The 10-year honorees are Katherine Davis (financial aid), Linda Hans (materials management/transportation), Thomas Harland (security and protective services), Lisa Panapento (women's basketball), and Jennifer Reynolds (nursery school), along with Lucinda Alderman, Denine Kain, Jennifer Shipley, Gary Sparr, and Kathryn Thomas in custodial services; Ricky Curie, Wanda Robinson, Judy Snader, and Gail Wiebe in campus dining; and Deborah Kilbane and Connie McCarty in applications development.

Rounding out the list are five-year honorees are Linda Campbell (campus dining), Scott Friedhoff (admissions), Kathleen Garvey (libraries), Tracy Holtz (purchasing), Russ Houser (physical education and athletics), Angela Johnston (President's Office), Marlene Kanipe (business office), Dwight Nagy (college relations), Carolyn Newton (academic affairs), Jennifer Olp (custodial services), Dave Rinard (golf operations), Paul Seling (alumni relations), and Lisa Woods (wellness center).

"These are great staff members who have dedicated their careers to The College of Wooster," said Marcia Beasley, associate vice president for human resources. "We are thrilled to honor our retirees and those who have reached milestone service anniversaries."