Composition of presidential search committee complete

AGB Search tapped to support process

23 March, 2015 by John Hopkins

WOOSTER, Ohio – With the addition of four faculty and one staff member, the committee established by the college's Board of Trustees to conduct the search for Wooster's next president is now complete. The committee has selected AGB Search, a firm focused exclusively on higher education leadership searches, to assist in the process. The same firm is assisting in the search for an interim president to guide the college during the 2015-2016 academic year.

Elected by their peers to represent the faculty on the presidential search committee are Angie Bos, associate professor of political science; Jimmy Noriega, assistant professor of theatre and dance; Meagen Pollock, associate professor of geology; and Debra Shostak, professor of English. Phil Olsen, a groundskeeper and member of the Staff Committee, was appointed by Board Chair William A. Longbrake to represent the college's staff.

In addition to these five, the other members of the search committee are:

Dr. Richard Bowers '82, trustee
Jayne Hart Chambers '76, trustee
Jim DeRose '72, trustee
Doon Foster '80, trustee
Steve Graff '68, president of the alumni association
Laurie Houck, vice president for development and alumni relations
Emily Howerton, student, Class of 2017
Karen Lockwood '72, alumni trustee
Bill Longbrake '65, trustee and board chair
Mary Neagoy '83, trustee and search committee chair
Dale Perry '62, emeritus trustee

Tom Courtice, an associate managing principal of AGB Search, will serve as Wooster's consultant on the permanent search, a role he also is playing on the interim search. Over the course of nearly four decades in higher education leadership, Courtice served as president of three independent colleges, including Ohio Wesleyan University from 1994 to 2004. In 10 years as a search consultant, he has completed nearly 50 searches for college and university presidents and chancellors, provosts, vice presidents and deans.

The interim search process is well underway and Mary Neagoy, who chairs both search committees, said that the goal is to recommend a candidate for the interim president to the Board of Trustees prior to its May meeting. The interim president will serve for one year, beginning July 1, 2015. Wooster's 12th president will assume office at the end of the next academic year (June 2016).

"This period of leadership transition at Wooster presents us with challenges and opportunities," Neagoy said, "but I believe that the college has never been stronger. Wooster's presidency is a very attractive opportunity. I'm looking forward to working with the search committee as we begin to envision the next decade at Wooster and bring to campus our next visionary leader."

The College of Wooster is America's premier college for mentored undergraduate research. Wooster offers an excellent, comprehensive liberal arts education, culminating in a rigorous senior project, in which each student works one-on-one with a faculty mentor to conceive, organize and complete a significant research project on a topic of the student's own choosing. Through this distinctive program, every Wooster student develops abilities valued by employers and graduate schools alike: independent judgment, analytical ability, creativity, project-management and time-management skills, and strong written and oral communication skills. Founded in 1866, the college enrolls approximately 2,000 students.